Scoring? Czechs do it BETTAH!

Scoring? Czechs do it BETTER!

I am apparently damn psychic.  This is the sign I had tonight!  Let’s start off with some of the bigger new for the night:  Marty told me Happy Birthday!  Woot!  Alas, this was not to be the last interaction of the night.  Epicness.

New opening video:  I think I like it?  It has Czechness, so that’s good.  It may grow on me.  Hmm.  There is no video of Pru walking down the hall with his suit jacket slung over his arm like the last video had.

First period:

We’re playing Minnesota!  Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa…Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.   Sitting in seats right adjacent to the bench seriously obstructs your view, as does the airport-like atmosphere.  International airport that is!   What I recall from the first period is this:  That giant bastard from Minnesota creamed Uppy.  Dude, I don’t care if you’re 6’7, that just means I can hit at my shoulder level when I punch you in the junk.  Pick on someone your own size.  Wait, don’t.

It was very baaaaaaaaaack and foooooooooooorth.  Baaaaaaaaaaack and fooooooooooooorth.  Seriously, who the hell thought it would be funny to schedule us to play New Jersey and Minnesota back to back?  I CAN ONLY TAKE SO MUCH GODDAMN TRAP HOCKEY MR. SCHEDULER!  Anyways, screw the boring stuff:

PRUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCHA!

It's a bird! It's a cute bird! It's Suuuuuuuuper Pru!

Pru scores with assists from Marty and Jovo.  Woot!!!!  The best part of this besides Pru?  The Czechs skate by our bench hitting gloves and Marty sees me holding my sign, points at me, and gives me the smile/nod.  That Czech, during a game, has acknowledgement for his sign girl.  Epic.

I was still pretty fluttery about the whole thing when Shane scored.  SHANE?  SHANE DOAN?

Jesus feels goal-liscious?

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay Jesus!  You scored on your bobblehead night!  I said if you got a hattrick tonight, I (with no hat) would be throwing the bobblehead.  Alas, it was not meant to be.  But there were hats to be thrown this nite!

Second period:

WTF?  I don’t know who body snatched the boys and sent out these pod people in their place but seriously, we kinda sucked.  We weren’t taking penalties or anything at this point, we just couldn’t get control of the puck or have any sort of prolonged pressure.

Who pushed Jovo over a bent over Z? This is no time for pranks boys!

Dear Trap Hockey,   I hope you die.  Scathingly yours, Amy Jo.

Z lost a contact. A search party volunteered to help

Latendresse scored to make it 2-1 and we thankfully skated out of the period with the lead.

Third period:

2-1 hockey game.  Defensive struggle.  Both goalies pretty ok, this is going to be a tight, low-scoring affair.

PSYCHE!

7 goals in the third period.  Not in the game, in the PERIOD!  I’ve never seen that many.  Ever.  EVER!

First up?  ADRIAN!!!!!!!!!!

Adrian, I saw you kick ass and take names in practice with your power play unit.  You carried it over to this game!  You go with your scaryness and 9 kids!

Next up:  Pruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!  Wait, didn’t Prucha already score?

There are no words.....

Everyone has mad Pru love

It was so freaking loud in the arena

Whew that was a lotta Pru, but how could I pass it up?

Next, we get a penalty.  But it was all part of the plan!  The plan was for Uppy to go in the box.  Done!  Next, Fiddy was supposed to get a short-handed goal.  DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  FIDDYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!  You have both of our short-handed goals this year!  You’re such a badass!  You burglarized their power play!!!!!  (5-1)

I am cocky at this point.  Not even gonna lie and say I wasn’t.  We get two stupid penalties and MN got two power play goals for Nolen and Lantendresse.  Freaking eh.  Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease don’t let us fall on our faces.  Most of them are far too pretty. (5-3)

Latendresse scores the hattrick (5-4). Did Montreal seriously trade Lantendress way this season?  Idiots.

Crap.  It’s ok because things start to get PHYSICAL.

The hit of the game was definitely this one:

Umm Clutterbuck, I wouldn't talk bad about the signage

MARTY IMPRINTED CLUTTERBUCK’S FACE IN THE GLASS RIGHT BY US!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Don’t mess with the Czech Monster.

Then the near miracle happened:

A Czech scored.  Quite a few people thought it was Prucha for his hattrick.  People even threw hats.  But it was Radim.  Still amazing, but ….. Pru 😦

Thankfully the game ended with us winning.  It was an entertaining game, but the MN comeback made me a bit too uneasy.

MVP of the Game: Like there is any doubt:  PRUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCHA!!!!!!!!!!!  I have to admit that when I thought had the hattrick, a tear came to my eye because of how badly he got hosed last year.  He’s back to being confident, he loves his line, the team loves him, the fans love him, and his old fans still love him.  Lots of Pru-love.

Irony of the Game:  There is a Twitter campaign to free a Petr from the pressbox.  Petr Sykora (who is also Czech) has been scratched for a ton of games by MN.  Didn’t they learn from watching the Rangers Fubar it up with Prucha?

Most Improved: Fiddy!  A goal and an assist!  You’ve been offensively quiet lately and it’s good to see you jump back into the stat sheet Fids!

Tip for Tippett: I’ve got nothing.   Although I will share with you this:  Mueller is like Maverick.  After Maverick lost Goose, he lost his confidence.  He was scared to “engage”.  The shots “didn’t look good”.  Like Viper, you have to “keep sending him up”.  It will come.  At the climax of the movie (season), Maverick (Peter) will go in and shoot down all the enemies (Nabby, Luo, Huet) to save Iceman (Uppy).  Then Iceman (Uppy) will cheesily say “You!  You are still dangerous!  You can be my wingman anytime.”  And Maverick (Peter) will cockily say back “Bullshit, you can be mine.”  They will embrace in a hug and then Lombo will get jealous.

Wow that was a tangent.

Anyways, I leave you with these wonderful bits of Czech love:

Awwwww

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scoring? Czechs do it BETTAH!

  1. Kels says:

    Tears streaming down cheeks.

    AWE!

    Super Pru – Hot!

    Not Pru – LOL!

    I may love the NYRs, but seriously – there is no reason I shouldn’t have been watching this game ALL NIGHT!

    Go Yotes!!

  2. Jeremy says:

    Saw your sign during pre-game from across the rink. We were up in 121. Couldn’t for the life of me figure out what it said, and my phone camera couldn’t get close enough to take a picture. So I’m glad I came here to check it out. Nicely done!

    That’s good Prucha!

Leave a Reply

